Video Recording and Uploading Practice

This week we had a task to make a video recording of our teacher Richard teaching a lesson.Then we had to upload the file on Moodle. I managed to record some part of the lesson. However, I was not successful in uploading the camera file which I recorded, so this is an excerpt of a lesson found online.

The video recording task was carried by myself and other students. I used my own mobile phone device to record the lesson. My aim was to capture Richard teaching by following the rule of two thirds. This means that I tried to ensure that I recorded Richard for at least two thirds of camera time and the rest of the time was taken by the presentation. I made sure that I did not use any swift movements when I wanted to change the place of capturing. This was because so it does not cause a distraction for any viewers who will view it later. This practice was considered to be effective so I can capture the best shots I can. However, I did not record the full lesson. The reason is that my phone memory ran out of space. This practice indicates that I need to consider in future which device I should be using and how much memory, power and capability it has.

The second task was to upload the file on Moodle and I had several options. Firstly, I opened my email and attached the file with new email so I can send it to do a different email. Secondly, I  opened that particular email where I had sent this file so I can save it on my computer. Finally, I uploaded the saved file from the computer. After I applied this procedure, I realised that the attachment was not attached to the sent email. I retried to send it and tried to investigate why video files can not be attached. Doing this trial and error experience, I accidentally I pressed a function button on my phone that deleted the recorded file. later on, I attached a voice recorded file and that was attached and received in the recipient email.

This practice suggested that I need to evaluated which method I need to apply. I need to be aware of a way that does not involve multiple tasks. For example, in this task, I chose a way that involved recording, saving, transferring via email, downloading and uploading. Next time, I will investigate an alternative method. Additionally, some files can not be attached in an email. The reason is that they can be over the limit that is allowed. If this is the case, any type of file will not be attached in an email. Alternatively, one drive or sway can be used for this purpose.

What is important that videos can be used for the educational purpose (The University of Queensland n.d). For example, a teacher can record students speech and then reflect on the areas of improvement. Similarly, those students that do an outstanding work can be recorded and used as a model for other students. Equally, they can be used for intrinsic and extrinsic motivations to capture the excellence. Finally, lessons can be recorded by the facilitator and uploaded on an online tool and van be shared with other facilitators. However, they can be drawbacks. One is that there is a possibility of equipment failure. For example, if a projector becomes faulty, it can take a time to be fixed. Similarly, some facilitators may not be familiar with the equipment. It can be time-consuming to get used to this potential educational resource.

The theoretical explanation is that it makes a connection with memory process and with visual clues (Wang 2017, p.175). It also helps to recall the stored knowledge. It includes sounds and animation that creates engagement. Therefore, it becomes insightful. Furthermore, it enables students to acquire transferable skills.

         Reference List

The University of Queensland (n.d) Pedagogical benefits [Online] Available:  http://www.uq.edu.au/teach/video-teach-learn/ped-benefits.html

Wang, B. (2017). ‘The College English Teaching Reform Based on MOOC’. English Language Teaching; Vol. 10, No. 2; 2017

Leave a Reply

