Digital literacy skills

Skills that are required for online information sharing and a ‘digital society’ are called digital literacy skills. This includes gaining, storing and managing information online. In today’s parlance, they could also be termed ’employability skills’ (Yoram 2004,p.231). This means that digital literacy skills are generic and they will be used in more than one context. It is stated that a lack of computer skills can damage future job chances (Jisc, n.d online).  Alyaz (2017, p.189) argued that digital skills have been teh subject of increased attention within the education field.  As my journey is to be in the educational field, it is integral for me to carry out an assessment of myself. Therefore, I carried out an assessment in class to identify where I am so I could create an action plan for improvement. Based on this action plan, I will be able to effectively reflect and improve my journey towards total professionalism.

The assessment which I used is called the digital literacy skills’ checklist (Being Digital 2012, online).  This checklist can be useful as it identifies areas that needs to be focussed on. However, some pupils may set aside and ignore the checklist once it has been completed. The checklist has four headings: understanding digital practices, finding information, using information and creating information.

The first criterion was related to digital practices. The overall findings of digital practices suggested that I am not very confident in the major areas. However, regarding the second area (i.e. finding information) the results showed that I am quite confident in using them.

The third criterion is using the online information. The test indicated that I am very confident in the major areas. Nonetheless, I do have concerns about organising and sharing information; I am not confident in how to organise and share information by using social bookmarking. Equally, sharing files legally with others is an area in which I lack confidence.

Another significant aspect regarding using online tools is referred to the online presentation and legislative issues. Indeed, I am not confident about presenting myself online nor am I confident in understanding who legally owns the online information.

The fourth area is creating information in which I again suffer because of having a shortage of skills. This area is mainly refers to creating different types of resources to share with other online users. Categorically using media devices and recording is a field that I have never had practice in.

This assessment suggests that the majority areas of the checklist are the ones that I am not confident. Nevertheless, at some particular areas, I might have the fluency of use. Therefore, lack of digital literacy skills can have a negative impact on education.

Reference list

Alyaz, Y. (2016) ‘DigitalGame-Based Language Learning in Foreign Language Teacher Education,’ATurkish Online Journal of Distance Education, v17 n4 Article 9 p130-146 17 pp.

Being digital (2012) The Open University. Available: http://www.richardnelsononline.co.uk/blog/wp-content/uploads/2015/11/accessible-pdf-35-self-assessment-checklist.pdf [20 March 2017]

Jisc. (n.d) Jisc.[Online] Available: https://www.jisc.ac.uk/guides/developing-students-digital-literacyutm_content=buffer75722&utm_medium=social&utm_source=twitter.com&utm_campaign=buffer [20 March 2017]

Yoram, E.(2004) ‘Digital Literacy: A Conceptual Framework for Survival Skills in the Digital Era.’ Journal of Educational Multimedia and Hypermedia; Norfolk13.1 93-106

Leave a Reply

